Ascension Aquatics The Candy Shop Reefwise
Thanks Thanks:  6
Likes Likes:  11
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Which camera do you use???

Looking to buy a DSLR soon.

What do you guys recommend for the photography noob?

What's your favorite lens for taking pix of your tank?

What settings do you use the most?

Any tips for taking those great pix?

Real Name
    Grumpy
    I have the Canon T3i (now outdated) No specific reason except for the Canon name and reviews of the top rated at the time I got it. It's nice has a tons of buttons and will do more than I can figure out with out going to a photography class.

The best you can afford

Macro

Auto because Im a noob too LOL

Tripod and patience, Trial and error, lucky shots
    Last edited by Emisis; 11-22-2013 at 08:47 PM.

Real Name
    Nate
    I'm a big Canon fan but it's all i've ever used so i know what all the little icons mean most of the time. I'm still using my old 8mp digital rebel xti with no viewfinder bumper ( )

i haven't sprung for up close glass yet, so my stock 18-55 is the best i can do.

I usually shoot on the manual aperature setting with custom white balance

My optimum shooting conditions: all pumps off. lots of light in tank no lights in room around it. shoot on a tripod with your timer for coral, good luck with fish. Shoot straight through the glass as much as possible (lens perpendicular to the glass) with no flash.Custome white balance. keep dialing in until it looks good.

I'm totally still learning this stuff, but the biggest single impact on my results was learning to use the custom white balance. You basically shoot a pic of something white in the tank like a plastic card or even your sand. then you tell the camera that picture is white (I believe it averages the whole picture, so watch out for dark edges). The first time one of my pics looked anything like what I was seeing with my eye was after messing with that for the first time (thanks @tangency btw)